There may be a time when after entering a hard cost that some changes need to be made after the fact. Since hard costs involve both a transaction and an expense, different steps may be needed.

Below will walk through various scenarios and how to rectify.


If Invoice has been sent to client or already paid


You have two options:
  1. You can follow the steps below to correct the expense and invoice and send it again to your client as a “corrected invoice”. OR
  2. Best Practice: Enter a new transaction for the balance of the amount and post it as an additional matter expense to be billed on the next invoice. If the original invoice charge is higher than the expense, and the invoice is paid in full, issue a Credit Memo for the matter.
 

Removing the Hard Cost From The Invoice

 

Paid Invoice

  • Go to Activities > Invoices > Show > Paid
  • Select invoice that includes expense card
  • Since this is a paid invoice, it has been finalized. You can tell by the lock icon on the left. A closed lock means final and cannot be edited. To unfinalize an invoice, go to Action > Unfinal Invoice. You must be an admin or a user with permissions to complete this step. 
  • Once unfinalized, to unlink the payment and the expense, you will need to edit the invoice, uncheck the linked expense from the list on the right and then click "Generate". The payment is then placed into the operating retainer and that expense is no longer billed.
 

Unpaid Invoice

  • Go to Activities > Invoices > Show > Current
  • Select the invoice that includes expense card. Be sure the invoice is NOT finalized. You can tell by the lock icon on the left. A closed lock means final and cannot be edited. 
  • To unfinalize an invoice, go to Action > Unfinal Invoice. You must be an admin or a user with permissions to complete this step. 
  • If Unfinal, select the invoice and click Delete. The expense card will now be available for edits. 

Unlinking Transaction and Expense


Once removed from the invoice and therefore in a "billable" status, you will then need to unlink the transaction and expense in order to make any changes. 

  • Go to Accounting > Banks > Choose the correct Bank or Credit Card > Click Details


  • Under the transactions tab, locate the transaction. It will be marked with a green expense icon with a chain link through it.
  • Click Edit


  • Use “Unlink Expense Card” button at bottom of screen. This will leave a transaction and a separate soft expense on the matter level.


Editing The Now Unlinked Transaction or Expense


Once the steps above have been completed to unlink the transaction from the expense, you can go ahead and make edits to either item. 


Linking the Transaction to a Different Expense Card

If this was simply a case of linking the transaction to the wrong expense card, complete the following:

  • Go to Accounting > Bank>Details>Transactions and locate the previously linked transaction.
  • Edit the transaction again click "post as matter expense"
  • Choose "new expense card" if the card is not yet in the system, or "choose existing expense card" If the card is already entered. NOTE, with the latter option, the amount of the transaction must match the amount of the existing card EXACTLY in order to be linked. 
  • Save, and you have an updated hard cost.


Note: if this item was supposed to be billed already, be sure to invoice or add to a current invoice so that it is not forgotten. 

 

Changing the Amount of the Hard Cost

Once the steps above have been completed to unlink the transaction from the expense, you can go ahead and make edits to either item. 

  • First, locate the expense card (listed under the matter) edit and change the amount.
  • Then, go to Accounting > Bank > Details > Transactions and locate the previously linked transaction.
  • Edit this transaction and change the amount to match the edited expense
  • Click "post as matter expense" and select "choose existing expense card"
  • When typing in the matter name, the matched expense should populate. 
  • Save, and you have an updated hard cost.


Note: If this item was supposed to be billed already, be sure to invoice or add to a current invoice so that it is not forgotten.


Adding Updated Item Back To The Invoice

 

If Invoice was Deleted

If you deleted the invoice in this process, you just need to regenerate the invoice as per usual, including the updated hard cost. Just remember to change the invoice and/or due date if needed.


If Invoice was edited

If you would like to add that expense back to its original invoice

  • Locate that invoice and click edit
  • The expense should be listed on the far right, but not selected
  • Select that expense to add it back to the invoice
  • Click generate to update invoice balance


If Invoice was originally paid

You want to reapply the payment which was once made. 

  • Locate the invoice
  • Select Invoice Payment Using > Existing Operating Retainer
  • Enter the amount and apply to the invoice
  • Invoice is now paid